Daily Prompt: Elevator

Fiction writers: You’re stuck in an elevator with an intriguing stranger. Write this scene.

Non-fiction writers: You’re stuck in an elevator with a person from your past. Write this scene.

Pure fiction.

The coffee stain on my white blouse was getting larger and larger. I looked at it mortified and thought that not only I was running late, as always, but now I faced the prospect of returning to my apartment and changing the shirt. I looked at the plastic cup with a leaky top – the root of all evil, and sighed. I was just about to step outside the elevator when another person came running.

– Hold the elevator – The man managed to gasp as he almost jumped into the metal cubicle.

– Oh, I’m just getting out so if you could just.. – I said trying to go past him, but he was so preoccupied with getting in that he simply pushed the close button on the board and leaned on the wall with a sigh of relief. I of course was outraged.

– Excuse me did you not hear me saying that I wanted to get out? – He looked at me as if seeing me for the first time. I could see that he was just registering what I said and what I implied he did. He was a young man in his mid twenties, smartly dressed with an expensive looking briefcase.

– Oh I’m so sorry, I was in such a rush that I wasn’t thinking. You could just go back up, couldn’t you?

– Well, I suppose but that is not the point. – I answered briskly, irritated that I was wasting precious time.

– I’m sorry ok, I don’t know what more I can do.  – he answered rather snappishly. I was just about to open my mouth and snap back at him but suddenly the elevator churned and shook dangerously. The lights flickered and the machine stopped.

– What the…? – I asked no one in particular.

– We are stuck – he said flatly. He pushed the emergency button and slid down to the floor with a  loud sigh. – Great, this day couldn’t get any better . – He ran a hand through his short, slightly curling, sandy blond hair.

Ok, how can you be so calm? I’m freaking out here! What happens with elevators that get suspended between floors? Do they fall?

– Oh my God, is this thing going to fall? – The moment the words left my mouth I understood how stupid I sounded. The man looked at me with a mixture of disbelief and concern. He apparently thought that he was now locked in a very limited space with a completely crazy woman.

[to be continued someday]

Leave a Reply

