Daily Prompt: Memories For Sale

On a weekend road trip, far away from home, you stumble upon a garage sale in a neighborhood you’re passing through. Astonished, you find an object among the belongings for sale that you recognize. Tell us about it.

The dress was the color of a deep blue sea. It was a very simple dress, rather not in sync with the latest fashion but still eye catching. It had a small hole where the seam let go. At the bottom of the dress there was a light “V” line, a place where the iron lingered a tad bit too long. It was hanging over a rocky, once white chair. The chair stood a little bit on the side of the big garage sale, which happened in this neighborhood at least four times a year. I usually just glance quickly at the garbage of life that people try to get rid of and go on minding my own business. But today was different. Today I saw the sea blue dress. The dress that had exactly the same marks as my old, worn out garment that I haven’t seen in ages.

My blue dress was a gift, what else. It was a gift from my aunt. She found the dress in her own closet when tiding up. She gave it to me, with the words “I danced till dawn in this dress and made the best memories wearing it. Now it’s your turn”. I remember it so vividly because the moments I spent wearing the sea blue dress were, in fact most unforgettable and priceless.

In the sea blue dress I first got drunk so much, that I passed out on my friends couch. In the sea blue dress I had my first picnic under the stars. In the sea blue dress I finally passed my driver’s license, after four tries. In the sea blue dress I passed my most important exam for university application. In the sea blue dress I went for the first time to a summer festival and met my first love. In the sea blue dress I tried sushi for the first time. In the sea blue dress I took a ferry from the coast to an island. In the sea blue dress I first flew in a plane. In the sea blue dress I first cried over a broken heart and broken dreams. In the sea blue dress I bought my first pair of favourite pearl earrings. In the sea blue dress I spent the happiest time of my life – my early twenties.

I lost track of the sea blue dress when I finished studying and went to work in a big corporation office. I started confining myself to strict dress code of prim white shirts and modest pencil skirts. I forgot about my delicate, blue dress. I forgot about everything that it represented: the joy, youth and freedom.

I took the cloth from the chair and confidently strode towards the saleswoman. Today I bought something more than a piece of fabric. Today I brought back my memories. And those are worth more than anyone can pay. Memories are priceless. Memories are forever.

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Memories For Sale

  1. Pingback: Welcome Home Skip (Short fiction) | The Jittery Goat

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt : Memories For Sale | writinglikeastoner

  3. Pingback: Memories: The Typewriter and The Coat Rack | Bastet and Sekhmet

Leave a Reply

