Weekly Writing Challenge: Through the Door

The door to your house/flat/apartment/abode has come unstuck in time. The next time you walk through it, you find yourself in the same place, but a different time entirely. Where are you, and what happens next?

I was beat. Dead tired actually. Mauled after the whole day at the office. The only thing I dreamed of was to get into the shower and crawl into bed. I bet I would be asleep in three seconds.

Unfortunately my doors had other ideas. They simply wouldn’t budge. Not even an inch. I turned and turned my key but it seemed like the problem was with the door itself. They seemed glued to the doorframe.

Oh, no, nothing will beat me to my bed. I pushed angrily at the door and suddenly the wood gave in. I fell through the entrance and landed on something soft, green and grassy? What the…? Did I break a plant at home? Wait a minute I have no plants. What is going on? I raised my head and stumbled to my feet. The sun blinded me. Under my feet was indeed, a grass. I could hear birds and raised my head to see a few black spots on otherwise clear, baby blue sky. Before my eyes there was vast, green field with only few boulder blocks scattered. On the horizon I could see some big shape rising in the distance, menacing, sinister, the big unknown.

I turned around disoriented, wanting to go back to my apartment, only to find out that there was no door anymore. My door was gone and only a shaky, half rotten frame remained. There was no way back.

I was literally in the middle of nowhere. What is going on? I must be dreaming. I bumped my head or fainted from the exhaustion. Yes that must be it. I felt that dreadful feeling of insecurity, fright and complete lose set in.

I was all alone, in a strange place, in a different time… And to think that I thought this day couldn’t get any worse…

 

Weekly Writing Challenge: Through the Door

Leave a Reply

