Daily Prompt: Success!

Tell us about a time where everything you’d hoped would happen actually did.

The first true success I accomplished started when I managed to write and defend my first truly original and extensive writing – my BA dissertation. I worked really hard and had to gather my materials all by myself. It might seem easy but I live in Poland and I had to write and defend my dissertation in English. Paradoxically there were not many books in the library that I could get my hands on, even though it was English Philology department…

I had to wheel and deal a lot, think outside the box to acquire the necessary materials. I was writing about C.S. Lewis and his Chronicles of Narnia. I wanted to analyze the books  and write about parabolas, biblical metaphors and symbols. I read tons of papers, abridge lots of information and build up a presentable and convincing paper. I loved every minute of it.

The revision was an endless task, I even revised the paragraphs on a day I was supposed to give the work to my promoter. It was the first literary creation that I was really proud to complete and present. I was really happy when the commission praised my work and I passed the exam. I even remember shedding a tear or two.

Ultimately I succeeded in defending my thesis and completing the paper.  After the defense I had to apply for two years of MA course. The stakes were high – my future. I chose translation and after tough exam (which I was really nervous about) I got accepted along with 9 more people. That three month period marked the first truly important success of my life. It was exhilarating. I realized I could get used to it. What is more, I wanted my written work to be noticed and praised. I knew I could achieve it.

So I gave it my best try. I went on to write the MA dissertation. And guess what? I defended it.

Leave a Reply

