Monsters under the bed…

Image

“Good night, sleep tight,
Don’t let the bedbugs bite,”

This nursery rhyme always rubbed me the wrong way. I never believed in monsters living under my bed, but when I was a child…Well, that is an entirely different story. I was a child with a vivid imagination who often escaped the reality and come up with various worlds, creatures and stories. The first monsters that I imagined threatened my world where… orcs, goblins and the evil forces of Mordor. Believe it or not but my father would tell me stories from J.R.R. Tolkien’s “Lord of the Rings”.

Obviously I was too little to read the book by myself but my father used to tell me bits and pieces of the plot. He used to tell me that underneath our house there were mines and vast caves where orcs and goblins lived. However we were protected by a white flower with a power to repel evil creatures. The name of the flower? Spathiphyllum, more commonly known as Spath or Peace Lilies. One of those plants was placed in our living room. A guardian of the home.

So, no I was never afraid of monsters living under my bed. After all I had the Peace Lily to protect me. This and my vast imagination which choose to see the world in rainbow rather than in dark colors.

Daily prompt from: https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=617325341628124&set=a.599260846767907.1073741825.175634409130555&type=1&relevant_count=1.

Leave a Reply

